Till_Libya

About Till Mayer

As journalist and photographer Till Mayer has been working closely with the Red Cross/Red Crescent Movement, Handicap International and other relief organizations for many years. In his course of work, he has visited numerous African, Asian and European countries, many of them devastated by war, crisis or disaster. He has also taken part in long term missions as an Information Delegate for the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies and the German Red Cross in Iraq, Iran, Sri Lanka, Turkey and the Balkans.

Till Mayer is an honorary member and convention representative of the board of the Red Cross branches in Bamberg and Lichtenfels (Germany). In Germany he is employed as an editor at the daily newspaper “Obermain-Tagblatt”. There he has initiated the readers’ campaign “Helfen macht Spaß” (“It’s fun to help”) that supports people in need in collaboration with the local Red Cross and other organizations. As a volunteer, he also supports elderly people in need in Lviv (Ukraine). His pictures and features are published at Spiegel-Online and in various newspapers and magazines. His photos are presented in numerous exhibitions worldwide. His pictures and texts are displayed in three books.

Awards: Honor Award of Dr. Georg Schreiber Media Award 2016,  Coburger Medienpreis 2015, Coburger Medienpreis 2012, Medal of Honor of German Red Cross, Medal of Honor of Ukrainian Red Cross, „Humiroir“ of GRC-federal branch “Badisches Rotes Kreuz”.

Till_Libya

Über Till Mayer

Till Mayer arbeitet seit vielen Jahren als Journalist und Fotograf eng mit dem Roten Kreuz/Roten Halbmond, Handicap International  und anderen Hilfsorganisationen zusammen. Er bereiste zahlreiche Kriegs- und Krisenländer sowie Katastrophengebiete Afrikas, Asiens und Europas. Seine Aufgabe als Informationsdelegierter des Internationalen bzw. Deutschen Roten Kreuzes führte ihn unter anderem auf den Balkan, in die Türkei, nach Sri Lanka, in den Irak und den Iran.

Ehrenamtlich engagiert sich Till Mayer bei den Rotkreuz-Kreisverbänden  Bamberg und Lichtenfels (Bayern) als Vorstandsmitglied und Konventionsbeauftragter. In seiner Heimat hat er die Leseraktion “Helfen macht Spaß” aufgebaut, die in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Roten Kreuz und anderen Wohlfahrtsverbänden Bedürftige unterstützt. Ehrenamtlich engagiert er sich für bedürftige Senioren in Lviv (Ukraine). Bei der Tageszeitung “Obermain-Tagblatt” ist er als Redakteur angestellt. Als freier Fotograf und Journalist  arbeitet er für Spiegel-Online sowie zahlreiche Zeitungen und Magazine. Seine Fotos werden weltweit in Ausstellungen gezeigt. Er ist Autor von vier Bildbänden: „Not“ (Herausgeber DRK), „roter Winkel, hartes Leben“ (Verlag Herder), „Abseits der Schlachtfelder“ (Erich-Weiss-Verlag) und “Barriere:Zonen” (Erich-Weiss-Verlag).

Auszeichnungen: Ehrenpreis des Dr. Georg Schreiber-Medienpreises 2016,  Coburger Medienpreis 2015, Coburger Medienpreis 2012, Ehrenzeichen des Deutschen Roten Kreuzes, Höchste Auszeichnung des Ukrainischen Roten Kreuzes, „Humiroir“ des DRK-Landesverbands “Badisches Rotes Kreuz”.